Home > Motorcycles > The Open Road

The Open Road

It’s been about nine years since I owned a motorcycle.  Today my wife and I took a road trip that was different from anything we experienced.  We road with our neighbors and about 50 other cruisers on a “trip to nowhere.”

During the spring and summer, I hear my neighbors revving up their bikes on Sunday mornings.  I always wanted to join them but I sold my Yamaha R1 (race bike) before I moved to Georgia.  Last year for my birthday, my wife surprised me with a Victory Cross Country (cruiser bike.) Today was our first ride of the season.  I have to say, it was exciting to be back on a motorcycle.

We logged in almost 300 miles on a great back road trip through Northeast Georgia.  We stopped at a marina for lunch, took pictures , mingled and shared our bike stories.  When we headed back home, fatigue started to set in.  The closer we got to our exit, the more my legs and butt hurt.  It is not the same type of hurt I used to feel leaning forward on my R1, but from sitting upright.  Needless to say, it was a great first ride on my new bike and a fun way to start the spring.

One thing I forgot about was the lack of respect bikers get on the road from car drivers.  As we move into the riding season, everyone must be alert.  People get distracted changing radio stations, playing with their cell phones and talking with other passengers.  I am accustomed to the loud pipes on race bikes, which is an indicator to drivers a biker is near.  I noticed some cruisers have quieter pipes and for drivers that switch lanes first and look second, this could be a disaster.  As we get into the warmer weather remember to be aware of your surroundings and share the road.

BE SAFE!

Mike Goodall

Select Luxury Cars, located in Marietta, Ga. on Highway 41, hand “Selects” every vehicle. We specialize in the highest quality automobiles available in the market. Whether you live here in the Atlanta area or anywhere around the world, we will find the exact car you are dreaming of. If you are looking for a Mercedes, BMW, Porsche, Audi, Bentley, Rolls-Royce, Ferrari or other high end model, begin your search here and we won’t disappoint.

Categories: Motorcycles
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

